On the Gaza withdrawal

Daniel Pipes has a some clear thinking, in his post “Today Gaza, Tomorrow Jerusalem”.

Excerpts:

“Are Israel’s critics correct? Does the “occupation” of the West Bank and Gaza cause the Palestinian Arabs’ anti-Semitism, their suicide factories, and their terrorism? And is it true these horrors will end only when Israeli civilians and troops leave the territories?”

“But I forecast a very different outcome. Given that about 80% of Palestinian Arabs continue to reject Israel’s very existence, signs of Israeli weakness, such as the forthcoming Gaza withdrawal, will instead inspire heightened Palestinian irredentism. Absorbing their new gift without gratitude, Palestinian Arabs will focus on those territories Israelis have not evacuated. (This is what happened after Israeli forces fled Lebanon) The retreat will inspire not comity but a new rejectionist exhilaration, a greater frenzy of anti-Zionist anger, and a surge in anti-Israel violence”

Mr Pipes has an excellent understanding of things Middle East, but beyond that from a Biblical point of view, Mr Sharon is risking God’s judgement, as the land is not his to give away. Israel was given to the Jews by God, and correct me if I’m wrong, but nowhere did the Lord give Israel permission at any time to do with the land as they wish, except as stewards.

10 thoughts on “On the Gaza withdrawal

  1. The Palestinians (Phillistines) will never be happy until Israel is dead and gone, period. The next time they seek to eliminate the Jews, things are going to get real bad real quick.

  2. morris- Touching “the apple of His eye” is not a good idea even for a jew. The Land is inscribed with His name and it is His Land not to be given away for the sake of “false shalom.” The enemies of Israel are always making agreements only to break them and so it is in the latest round of the world according to George W. Bush. Pressuring Israel by way of Sharon has got biblical ramifications. We thought Hell broke out on September 11th just wait for the natural calamaties that befalls the nation or nations who touch His prime real estate. We never learn from history.

  3. Morris, I so agree with what you just posted, and Billy D and, of course, my husband.
    Have you given any thought to being a team member on Messiah Is Coming? Let me know and I’ll give you an invite if you think you would want to be a contributor to it.
    Shalom,
    Serena

  4. It is sad that they evicted the Jews. Thats a shocker that hit me as I watched the news. Whoa and nobody is supposed to mess with Gods chosen people!

  5. I am not a dispensationalist, but even I am stunned at Sharon’s evicting his own people as a sop to the most violent among us. Appeasing evil never works. This has begun and will end in tears.

  6. Morris,

    My sentiments exactly. I actually fear the judgemnet to come. And I think America will get another dose of God’s wrath – we forced Isreal into this position.

    It’s so sad to see people do this. And it strikes me, this is another land grab – just like we’ve recently had in America. It’s government telling private citizens, no you don’t own that land, you have not human rights, go find yourself another home.

    Never mind that Jews don’t “own” land – that have some kind of lease agreement because God owns the land. It’s the same principle at work.

    Well, if it’s His land. Don’t they think He might object to surrendering it.

  7. I suppose it’s mean of me, but I am quite comfortable with the idea of America getting a good solid kick in the arse for the two-faced way they’ve treated Israel over the years. I know there’s a good chance I’ll be here when that kick comes, but that’s okay.

  8. I find it amazing that anyone who loves Israel is considered a “dispensationalist.” I guess in the “Christian” world, you are either Preterist or Dispensationalist, Calvinist or Armenian, etc. I am none of those. I hope I can’t be pigeon-holed like that. I guess I would say I am a scripturalist. I believe the Book from the first word of Genesis to the last word of Revelation and don’t throw any of it out. Those who take these other views, don’t understand that some things just are not applicable for such reasons that there is no temple in Israel, that Yeshua is the ultimate atoning sacrifice, that it just does not affect our lives since we are not in the situtation the scripture in question covers.
    YHWH did not waste His breath on any of His Book. What is referred to in the “New Testament” as G-d breathed is what are called the “Old Testament” by many and considered done away with by many. Read Matthew 5:17-19 for Yeshua’s take on that.
    Personally, I think that anyone who believes that the Blood of the Lamb is for their Redemption should throw out the teachings of men and get into the Book for themselves and see what is really taught there. I think it is an eye-opening experience, especially if you ask Him to teach you and your heart is crying out for Truth.
    Love and shalom,
    Serena
    Morris, please excuse me for getting on a soapbox on your blog, but it really gets me when I am called a dispensationalist just because I believe that YHWH’s promises to Israel are still in effect. If He can’t keep those, then He won’t any of the others, too, and we are doomed! Then we are of all people most miserable!

Leave a Reply

